The Bakery | If/Then for Strings
Richard Siegal's The Bakery
The Bakery, Richard Siegal, Dance

If/Then for Strings

“I have felt the pulse of modern art and know that it will die!” he wrote to his comrade-in-arms Liszt in 1850. “This knowledge, however, fills me not with despondency but with joy… The monumental character of our art will disappear, we shall abandon our habit of clinging firmly to the past, our egotistical concern for permanence and immortality at any price: we shall let the past remain the past, the future – the future, and we shall live only in the present, in the here and now and create works for the present age alone.”

Alex Ross The Rest is Noise

Date: 2014

Duration: 45 minutes

A work by Richard Siegal
 in collaboration with the Asasello String Quartet

Asasello String Quartet:
Rostislav Kozhevnikov, violin
Barbara Kuster, violin
Justyna Silwa, viola
Wolfgang Zamastil, violoncello

Production: Richard Siegal/The Bakery
Coproducer: Muffatwerk München

Funded by the Department of Arts and Culture of the City of Munich and the Fondation Royaumont where the project was prepared, with support of Mouvoir/Stephanie Thiersch and Freihandelszone – Ensemblenetzwerk Cologne, Picture credit for the stage prospects: National Archives and Research Institute of the Richard-Wagner-Foundation